The Philippe Austruy Collection

A passion for art to be shared

Buildings, spaces, trails, and the artistic layout of La Commanderie de Peyrassol have been rearranged to highlight the Philippe Austruy Collection – a constant evolution of over a hundred masterpieces – to offer the public a museum-like experience.



Contemporary Art at La Commanderie de Peyrassol enhances outstanding landscapes that mesmerize visitors. Unique dialogue between art and nature, the scenography of the sculpture park has been redesigned with the help of the landscape designer Gaële Bazennerye to offer a more enjoyable trail through a profusion of works of art, especially those created on site such as Cylindre ouvert et aux couleurs (2016-2017) by Daniel Buren, Hommage à Lou (2011) by Bertrand Lavier or Socle de la réalité (2008-2009) by Jean-Pierre Raynaud.

Secluded clearings, exclusively punctuated with Mediterranean plants, have been created to offer unobstructed views. Perspectives have been opened up and rearranged to enhance the artistic value of each piece and offer a better signposted pathway through the nearly 80 creations by Ugo Rondinone, César, Ben, Lee Ufan, Dan Graham, Antony Gormley, Joana Vasconcelos, Gisela Colon, Jean Tinguely, Antoni Tapies, Anne and Patrick Poirier, Bernar Venet, Wim Delvoye, Carsten Höller, Gloria Friedmann, Sislej Xhafa…



Since 2016, the daintiest pieces in the Collection have been housed in an amazing concrete and Corten steel building designed by the architect Charles Berthier in the middle of the vineyards. An artistic entity in its own right, bathed in a shaft of light, this 800 m2 space houses sculptures that cannot be displayed outdoors due to potential weather damage.

In 2021, in order to vary the exhibited works of art and offer an enriched experience to visitors, Philippe Austruy decided to add picture rails to this refined space. This subtle transformation now allows wall installations and the displaying of some of the remarkable Philippe Austruy Collection’s paintings and photographs that were previously rarely, or never, exhibited.

The centrepiece of this new setting is “Environment” (1968) by Jean-Pierre Raynaud, shown as it was originally exhibited in Jean-Marie Rossi’s apartment in the 1960s. The fifteen or so panels that make up the oeuvre have been dismantled and reorganised and, for the first time, a historic reconstruction of the great Parisian antique dealer’s living room is on show.


For a group of at least 15 people, please enquire

Free visit: 13€ / per person
Cost of a guided visit (not in a group): 20€
Two golf buggies can be hired to enjoy the whole estate and discover all the masterpieces.
Cost: 15€ for 60 minutes.

Ride in a horse-drawn carriage to see the sculpture park:
Discover our guided tour of the estate and the sculpture park in a horse-driven carriage.
Volkan will be your guide for this ride.

Information and reservation at:

Artists at Peyrassol

  Rita Ackermann / Franco Adami / Nicolas Alquin / Arman / Robert Barry / Ben / Pascal Bernier / Philippe Berry / André Borderie / Daniel Buren / Antony Caro / Loris Cecchini / César / Alain Clément / Wim Delvoye / Jean Dubuffet / Jean Claude Fahri / Martine Feipel & Jean Béchameil / Barry Flanagan / Patrick Fleury / Folon / Gloria Friedman / Hubert Garnier / Kendell Geers / Kostis Georgiou / Emile Gilioli / Osvaldo González / Dan Graham / Shilpa Gupta / Anish Kapoor / Bertrand Lavier / Fabrice Langlade / Francois Xavier Lalanne / Pierre Marie Lejeune / Alexander Liberman / Richard Long / Jorge Macchi / Federica Matta / Henri Olivier / Denis Oppenheim / Panamarenko / Michelangelo Pistoletto / Jaume Plensa / Anne et Patrick Poirier / Jean Pierre Raynaud / Pablo Reinoso / Stefan Rinck / Rotraut / Felix Roulin / Kathleen Ryan / Niki de Saint Phalle / Chiharu Shiota / Vladimir Skoda / Francisco Sobrino / Josh Sperling / Jeanne Susplugas / Frank Stella / Antoni Tapies / Pascale Marthine Tayou / Agnès Thurnauer / Jean Tinguely / Jean-Jacques Tosello / Gavin Turk / Keiji Uematsu / Lee Ufan / DeWain Valentine / Victor Vasarely / Joanna Vasconcelos / Bernar Venet / Nari Ward / Douglas White / Sislej Xhafa / José Yaque / Sun Yuan et Peng Yu / Huang Yong Ping